Friday, September 01, 2006

Bagdok Bisdak!

WINDING UP the "Buwan ng Wika" celebration, the Gawad Komisyon 2006 (sponsored by the Komisyon sa Wikang Filipino) spotlighted Cebuano writing whose poets and fictionists took center stage with their counterparts in other languages from the Tagalog region, Ilocos and Pangasinan. Awarding ceremony was held at the Philippine Columbian in Manila last August 31, with guest of honor Vice President Noli de Castro.

Here's the complete list of winners in the Cebuano division: POETRY-- Michael U. Obenieta (1st), Ernesto Lariosa (2nd), Oliver Flores (3rd), Arlaine J. Obenieta, Gumer Rafanan & Angie Nellas (Honorable Mention) FICTION-- Dindin Villarino (1st), Gumer Rafanan (2nd), Marlo Geocallo (3rd), Gremer Chan Reyes, Tranquilino Udarbe, Fred F. Monternel (honorable mention)

> Photo 1: Modesty aside, yours truly (1st Prize, Poetry)

> Photo 2: With my literary "tatay" Ernesto Lariosa (2nd Prize, Poetry)

> Photo 3: With my good friend Dindin Villarino (1st Prize, Fiction)


Rey said...

It's in the relentless pursuit of perfection that we find ourselves in the laurels of others... I know you won this by not peasing others but by writing what pleases you. And for that an applause.

Michael U. Obenieta said...

Bai Rey, that's very well-said. Salamat sa pag-abiba! Mabuhi ang Bisdak!

tes_eyemd said...

i always read ur article in the news paper. hope you dont mind if i add you to my link.

aCey said...

congrats, sir! ^_^

Michael U. Obenieta said...

Hey, tes_eyemd and acey. Thanks for dropping by.